Post Stagecoach/ Current listens

So stagecoach has come and gone and while it was nice to return to country, the current music kick I’m on has persisted.

 

Nothing’s Shocking – Jane’s Addiction (1988)

At War With the Mystics – The Flaming Lips (2006)

Clouds Taste Metallic – The Flaming Lips (1995)

Transmissions from the Satellite Heart – The Flaming Lips (1993)

The Stone Roses – The Stone Roses (1989)

 

I’m getting much deeper into the Flaming Lips catalog, beyond The Soft Bulletin and Yoshimi. These 3 albums are all great. At War With the Mystics is my favorite at the moment. It’s got a lot of the same features as the two I just mentioned. Super heavy synth. I love the harmonies they put together across the album. I wasn’t too into Clouds Taste Metallic the first time around like I was the other two so we’ll see how I like it in a couple days.

 

 

 

The Stone Roses is an A+ 110% 5 stars AND it was their debut album. Gotta be one of the best debut albums ever. Standing alone, every song is amazing. There are no favorites to be had on this one. MAYBE “Shoot You Down” … maybe.the-stone-roses-628

 

I’m also working on comprising a thorough ‘best years in music’ ranking that will outline my favorite years for music.

Leave a Reply

