Everything Now thoughts

Arcade Fire’s new album, Everything Now, was just released a couple of days ago. This will be my mediocre review of the album. I didn’t listen to any of the songs released before the full album release so it was all new to me.

Thoughts after first listen: it’s whatever. Not really what I was expecting. No songs really stood out to me in a positive way. Really dissatisfied overall, especially at the two “infinite content” tracks.

Second listen: I like the way the album opens and closes. Creature Comfort and Electric Blue are pretty good too.

Third listen: For the most part it’s a pretty good album. I love Peter Pan and Good God Damn (Although the latter sounds like it belongs on an Artic Monkeys album). Oh yeah and We Don’t Deserve Love. Still not happy with Infinite Content or Infinite_Content (I do like the instrumentation of the second one, but the rest seems lazy to me)

I expect the album to climb the charts of BestEverAlbums quickly and make its way to the top for 2017, surpassing Kendrick’s release. Come on, it’s Arcade Fire, the 7th best artist of all time according to BEA. Naturally, people are going to eat this shit up. I think they’re overrated, but that’s just me. 

It’s probably the best album of 2017 so far. It definitely kicks the ass of Fleet Foxes’ new album that’s for sure. I can’t wait to make a year end ranking of my favorite albums.

Leave a Reply

